Fire Danger Ratings

Australian Fire Danger Ratings

Fire Danger Ratings (FDRs) are forecast by the Bureau of Meteorology during the Fire Danger Period, which is usually between the months of October to April the following year.

The Fire Danger Rating tells you how dangerous a fire would be if one started. These are different to Total Fire Bans. (Click here to view the current  fire warnings and restrictions)

It helps you to know when conditions are dangerous enough to put your bushfire survival plan into action. It is important to know what each rating means and what you should do.

Australian Fire Danger Ratings
Australian Fire Danger Ratings

Four Levels

The Australian Fire Danger Rating system has four levels of fire danger:

  • Moderate – Plan and prepare
  • High – Be ready to act
  • Extreme – Take action now to protect your life and property
  • Catastrophic – For your survival, leave bushfire risk areas

What are Fire Danger Ratings?

Fire Danger Ratings provide information so people in affected areas can take action to protect themselves and others.

They will be issued on days when there is a fire risk. The higher the fire danger rating, the more dangerous the conditions and the greater the impact will be if a fire starts.

Each fire danger rating will have a clear set of messages including the actions the community can take to reduce their risk.

There are actions for each level, so you’ll know what to do to protect your life, family and property.

You will start seeing the new fire danger ratings online and in your local community from September 2022.

Watch this short video explaining what each level means and what you need to do to stay safe.

Fire Danger Rating roadside signs

Roadside signs will start to be replaced and updated from 1 September 2022. The look and feel of the new signs will be the same in all states and territories across Australia. Prioritisation in Victoria will be given to those communities most at risk.