New Fire Danger Ratings

Fire Danger Ratings

New Fire Danger Ratings

The way we determine and communicate Fire Danger Ratings is changing.

A new national Fire Danger Rating System is being developed using the latest science to be more accurate and relevant to where you live.

The new system will be used across Australia so whether you’re at home, traveling within Victoria or interstate, you will see the same system being used.

Australian Fire Danger Ratings

The new Fire Danger Rating system has four levels (instead of six); Moderate, High, Extreme and Catastrophic.

There’ll be actions for each level, so you’ll know what to do to protect your life, family and property.

You’ll start seeing the new fire danger ratings online and in your local community from September 2022.

For more information visit About Fire Danger Ratings